Music of Memory

Music of Memory

NMC Recordings
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Coming Soon
Unit price

This recital takes its title from another major guitar work of the 20th century, Nicholas Maw's Music of Memory - an intricate set of variations on a theme from Mendelssohn's String Quartet in A minor. It is coupled with premiere recordings of Maw's Little Suite for Guitar; Peter Racine Fricker's dramatic, Spanish-inflected Paseo, commissioned by Julian Bream, but never recorded; and works by Bayan Northcott, John McCabe and Joseph Atkins. Finally, the recording features two new works commissioned by Antonis from Charlotte Bray and Matthew Taylor, with support from the Britten-Pears Foundation.

Antonis Hatzinikolaou guitar


'Hatzinikolaou, who won the 2006 Julian Bream Prize, proves himself to be one of the most eloquent advocates for British guitar music you could wish for' Gramophone

'Sequence of eight British guitar pieces played beautifully by a Greek' The Sunday Times

'Hatzinikolaou delivers the goods with consummate dramatic force and huge doses of technical brilliance ... a landmark release that's both challenging and essential' Classical Guitar Magazine

'Glittering textures, are impressively agile ... A very engaging recital' BBC Music Magazine

'Antonis Hatzinikolaou [...] is a masterly player. No technical or intellectual challenge seems too much for him. He manages to bring warmth to the thorniest passages and plays with a huge range of tone and dynamics.' American Record Guide

‘Antonis Hatzinikolaou interprets impressively almost mystically with dedication and great respect for the music’ Kathimerini (translation from Greek newspaper)


Commissions from Charlotte Bray and Matthew Taylor were supported by the Britten-Pears Foundation


All works were recorded on 10-11 April and 17-19 September 2012 at Holy Trinity Church, Weston, Hertfordshire.

Recording Producer & Engineer: JOHN TAYLOR
Editing & Mastering: JOHN TAYLOR

(P) 2013 NMC Recordings Ltd
© 2013 NMC Recordings Ltd

Catalogue number: NMC D184
Release Date: 8 April 2013