Robert Saxton: Caritas, Violin Concerto

Robert Saxton: Caritas, Violin Concerto

NMC Recordings
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Coming Soon
Unit price

This addition to NMC's Ancora series reissues Robert Saxton's opera Caritas - based on Arnold Wesker's drama about a walled-up anchoress of the 13th century - alongside his Violin Concerto, Music to Celebrate the Resurrection, In the Beginning and the set of choral motets I Will Awake the Dawn.


Cast of Caritas

Eirian Davies Christine   
Jonathan Best Bishop Henry of Norwich
Christopher Ventris Robert Lonle, Christine's fiance
Linda Hibberd Agnes, Christine's mother
Roger Bryson William, Christine's father
David Gwynne Richard Lonle, Robert's father
Paul Wilson Mathew, Christine's parish priest
Galloway Bell Bailiff
Bruce Budd Villager
Brian Cookson Tax collector
Linda Ormiston Matilde, a village gossip

These recordings were originally released on Collins Classics.
Reissued with funding from Arts Council England.