Piers Hellawell: Sound Carvings, Strange Tryst [Live]

Piers Hellawell: Sound Carvings, Strange Tryst [Live]

NMC Recordings
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Coming Soon
Unit price

 Avant-garde composer Piers Hellawell and zany improvising virtuosi Bourne/Davis/Kane collide in a shared space; the goal is music created by all of them. Both parties leave behind established writing methods to learn from one another, undermining assumptions about the improvising and notation of music.

‘For a composer, to have musical heroes is often to dream of collaborating with them. I have long admired Bourne/Davis/Kane for sharply defined musical ideas that lie beyond stylistic categories, and it is a dream to be given a platform for feeding my own materials into their unique imaginative machine.’ Piers Hellawell

‘We are delighted to have been selected to commission Piers Hellawell to collaborate with Bourne/Davis/Kane. It fits exactly what Moving on Music aims to do as a company: provide opportunities for fearless creative musicians to present new, challenging work to as wide a public as possible.’  Moving On Music


For more information about all 20 pieces of the New Music Biennial, visit our page: http://www.nmcrec.co.uk/new-music-biennial


Moving on Music

Sound Carvings, Strange Tryst was commissioned by Moving on Music.


Matthew Bourne, piano
Stephen Davis, drums
David Kane, bass