NYC Young Composers 5

NYC Young Composers 5

NMC Recordings
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Coming Soon
Unit price

Release date: 26 January 2024

The latest release in NMC's annual partnership with the National Youth Choir (NYC) compiles a collection of imaginative new choral works by four talented, rising-star composers; Millicent B James, Will Harmer, Emily Hazrati, and Alex Tay. Now in its fifth year, the partnership goes from strength to strength with past releases achieving consistent critical acclaim. Works from the previous two Young Composers albums have won the Ivor Novello Classical Award for Best Choral Composition (Ben Nobuto's Sol (2023) and Derri Joseph Lewis' Something Exciting (2022)).

Each year the Young Composers scheme offers a four-phase programme (Discovery, Exploration, Realisation and Promotion) including residential courses, workshops, peer and professional mentoring, digital releases and performance showcases. The result is a selection of engaging and thoughtful new choral music, performed and recorded by NYC conducted by Emily Dickens, and the NYC Fellowship Ensemble with Ben Parry (conductor).

The set theme for this year's cohort was 'Celebration', tying in with the 40th Anniversary of NYC. The responses from these four unique compositional voices are hugely diverse in style and sound; from Will Harmer's spirited collection of madrigals, to Millicent James' euphoric celebration of friendship; Emily Hazrati's exploration of Iranian dance music, to Alex Tay's positive reflection on 'gen Z' culture.

The National Youth Choir and NMC Recordings share the ethos of supporting emerging composers, enabling imaginative new choral music to be promoted through professional releases. Having their music released on NMC significantly raises awareness of the Young Composers, providing them with a calling card of their work from which their career can flourish.

Explore previous NYC Young Composers releases here

1) Millicent B James Children of the Forest
Will Harmer Three Madrigals
2) I. Spring in All Her Glory
3) II. Sweet Eyes
4) III. Sing We at Pleasure
5) Emily Hazrati One Thousand Threads
6) Alex Tay RainFlow’rs
7) Will Harmer Fireworks
8) Alex Tay DEEP (HUH?!) - Abridged
9) Emily Hazrati khãné (meditations on home)
10) Millicent B James Finding Your Home

National Youth Choir (Tracks 1,5,7,8)
Emily Dickens conductor
National Youth Choir Fellowship Ensemble (Tracks 2-4, 6, 9, 10)
Ben Parry conductor



"A rewarding introduction to four promising young composers." ★★★★ BBC Music Magazine

"Vivid use of texture, imaginative subject matter and challenging writing clearly stimulate the young singers who give wonderfully engaged performances." Planet Hugill


Ruth Evans Executive Producer
Josh Quinlan Audio Producer
David Jones Mastering Engineer

Tracks 1, 5, 7 & 8
Emily Dickens Conductor
David Jones Recording and Mix Engineer
Recorded at Royal Academy of Music on 2 September, 2023.

Tracks 2-4, 6, 9 & 10
Ben Parry Conductor
Stefano Civetta Recording Engineer
Hester James Studio Assistant
Josh Quinlan Editor & Mix Engineer
Recorded at School Farm Studios on 14 October, 2023.

Catalogue number: NMC DL3056
Release date: 26 January 2024