New Music 20x12 Bundle

New Music 20x12 Bundle

NMC Recordings
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Coming Soon
Unit price

New Music 20x12 is a UK-wide commissioning programme consisting of twenty new pieces of music, each 12 minutes in length, celebrating the talent and imagination of the UK’s musical community as part of the London 2012 Cultural Olympiad.

These 20 new works took place in a wide range of venues and unexpected locations across the length and breadth of the UK – from churches, arts centres and concert halls to public spaces, festivals and a train journey. 

The commissions encompass an exciting range of composers and music genres and offer a snapshot of the UK’s rich musical life, from jazz, folk and music for brass band to contemporary classical, chamber opera and music written for dance. Each piece takes its inspiration from the spirit of the Olympic and Paralympic Games – endeavour, celebration, achievement and collaboration – and invites you to take part in a once in a lifetime celebration of new music.

New Music 20x12 is the brainchild of Jillian Barker and David Cohen who wanted to put new music at the heart of the Olympic celebrations in 2012. It is delivered by PRS Foundation in partnership with BBC Radio 3, London 2012, NMC Recordings and a wide range of generous funders who have supported these outstanding commissions which will contribute to the cultural legacy of London 2012. 

Featuring music by Mark-Anthony Turnage, Emily Howard, Aidan O'Rourke, Graham Fitkin, David Bruce, Anna Meredith, Howard Skempton, Richard Causton, Julian Joseph, Gavin Higgins, Sally Beamish and more.

This bundle contain all 20 pieces for the special price of £12
Tracks also available individually from our store.


'The Olympics continue to be a source of inspiration for composers taking part in the 20x12 project. There are three new tracks available on NMC: Aidan O'Rourke's jauntily minimalist TAT-1, inspired by the first transatlantic telephone cable; the astringent and powerful mini-opera Our Day by Conor Mitchell, set against the backdrop of events in Northern Ireland in 1972; and Oliver Searle's mercurial Technophobia, which brings together conventional and unconventional instruments played by young disabled musicians and their peers.' Composition Today

'The 20x12 project continues to be a great source of discovery and, to my mind, the most interesting offshoot of the Olympic Games. NMC have recently released three new pieces in the series: The Voyage by Michael Wolters, Zatopek! by Emily Howard and Fire by CT founder David Bruce. These new works greatly enrich what was already a delicious smorgasbord of new music. As before, they are available as a subscription download, and as individual tracks.' Composition Today


New Music 20x12 Partners