Judith Weir: The Vanishing Bridegroom

Judith Weir: The Vanishing Bridegroom

NMC Recordings
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Coming Soon
Unit price

Judith Weir's opera, commission by Glasgow District Council for the 1990 City of Culture celebrations, takes three Scottish folktales, all concerned with disappearance: The Inheritance features a runaway bride, a singing forest and a lost sum of gold; The Disappearance tells of a man abducted by supernatural forces; and The Stranger is the story of an independent-minded girl wooed by a sinister stranger.

Weir's writing combines lush descriptive soundscapes with ethereal choruses and Gaelic folk melodies; the romanticism of the three tales is offset by the sardonic humour and down-to-earth attitude of their protagonists, and of the composer herself.

Ailish Tynan soprano
Anna Stéphany soprano
Andrew Tortise tenor
Owen Gilhooly baritone
Jonathan Lemalu bass baritone

BBC Singers
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Martyn Brabbins conductor