Jocelyn Pook: Anxiety Fanfare and Variations for Voices [Live]

NMC Recordings
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Coming Soon
Unit price


[New Music Biennial - Live Recording]

First commissioned by the Mental Health Foundation for Anxiety Arts Festival London 2014 and premiered at the Wigmore Hall, London this work extends the multi-award winning composer Jocelyn Pook’s interest in the experience of mental illness, which she explored in her ground-breaking 2012 work, Hearing Voices. Written in five movements, the Anxiety Fanfare is performed by the Jocelyn Pook Ensemble and the community singers of the London International Gospel Choir, led by Naveen Arles. The soloists are soprano Loré Lixenberg, mezzo-soprano Melanie Pappenheim, countertenor Jonathan Peter Kenny and bass George Ikediashi.


This piece is part of New Music Biennial 2017. For more information about the project and to download the New Music Biennial album, please visit our project page:


Anxiety Fanfare and Variations for Voices is commissioned by The Mental Health Foundation.

Jocelyn Pook Ensemble
London International Gospel Choir

Jocelyn Pook Ensemble are:

Jocelyn Pook composer/viola
Jonathan Peter Kenny conductor/countertenor
Melanie Pappenheim mezzo-soprano
Lore Lixenberg soprano
George Ikediashi soprano
Luiz De Campos tenor
Emma Smith violin
Preetha Narayanan violin
Richard Jones viola
Sophie Harris cello
Midori Jaeger cello
Megan Roberts trombone
Rory Cartmell trombone
Christian Barraclough trumpet
Shane Brennan trumpet

London International Gospel Choir are:

The London International Gospel Choir:
Naveen Arles leader
Lisa Burmeister
Elle Sillanpaa
Emilie Schultze
Eszter Lakatos
Georgina Hole
Shirley Davies
Zsuzsanna Incze
Jessica Fair
Lauren Davis
Essi Turkson
Laura Pertuy
Vivien Sproule
Yoko Koshiyama
Peter Coleman
Claudina Spooner
Cyril Dorsett
Julija Surovecaite
Marco Nikic
Michaela Janks
Alex Wilson
Dominic Šimkus