Giles Swayne: Cry

Giles Swayne: Cry

NMC Recordings
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Coming Soon
Unit price

Release Date: 1 March 1994

Cry, for 28 solo voices and electronics, is an epic work that describes the creation myth, contrasting intricate rhythmic figures with huge arching phrases, and close dissonances with massive major chords.

BBC Singers
John Poole conductor



'It is a work of a precise and subtle creative craftsmanship and often brilliant imagery.' Daily Telegraph

'It is a Creation epic, a brilliantly conceived and executed 'vision' in vocal sound ... a remarkable achievement.' Financial Times

'If Swayne accomplishes only one work like this every ten years he will be regarded as a composer apart from the rest.' Guardian

'Giles Swayne caused a stir with this gigantic work... with the benefit of hindsight, it is easy to understand why... Excellent singing from the BBC Singers under John Poole.' BBC Music Magazine


Engineers: Peter Sidhom, Neil Pemberton 
Producers: Sylvia Cartner
Remastering: Tryggvi Tryggvason, Marian Freeman, Giles Swayne, Colin Matthews
Restoration engineer: Andrew Walter

Catalogue number: NMC D016
Release Date: 1 March 1994