Philharmonia Composers' Academy Vol 4

Philharmonia Composers' Academy Vol 4

NMC Recordings
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Coming Soon
Unit price

The Philharmonia Orchestra is delighted to present three new works by composers Hollie Harding, Joel Järventausta and Jocelyn Campbell, participants in the Philharmonia’s 2019/20 Composers’ Academy and the 2019/20 Royal Philharmonic Society Composers programme.

The featured composers developed their works over their 10-month participation in the Composers’ Academy, benefitting from seminars and tutorials as well as contemporary instrument exploration sessions and a works-in-progress workshop with Philharmonia players and conductor Patrick Bailey. In Hollie Harding's effervescent What was scattered the Philharmonia instrumentalists are given performance directions including "shimmering" and "uncoiling" to underpin music coloured by an underlying sense of longing and written during a particular difficult time in lockdown. Synesthete Joel Järventausta contributes an exploration of timbre and colour in his slow, ritualistic piece Pilgrim. The Philharmonia hits the club in Jocelyn Campbell's CLUBLAND: X-TREME EUPHORIA, an ode to the trance and hardcore megamixes that were Campbell's gateway into composition.

Philharmonia Orchestra
Patrick Bailey 


1) Hollie Harding What was scattered
2) Joel Järventausta Pilgrim

Explore our other Philharmonia Composers' Academy releases here.



"Three sophisticated, imaginative, evocative works each conjuring a different mood,"(★★★★½)  Planet Hugill


This recording is kindly supported by grants from the RVW Trust, the Coln Trust and the Patrick Rowland Foundation. The RPS Composers programme is supported by the ABRSM, Delius Trust, Elgar Bursary Fund, the Fidelio Charitable Trust, Garrick Charitable Trust, PRS Foundation’s The Open Fund, the RVW Trust, and the Susan Bradshaw Composers’ Fund. With further thanks to composer Christian Mason for his role in mentoring the featured composers. The Philharmonia Orchestra’s 2019/20 Composers’ Academy is generously supported by the Royal Philharmonic Society and the Andor Charitable Trust.


Recording Credits

All works recorded at Wathen Hall, St Paul’s School, London on 22 October, 2021

Recording Producer/Engineer: David Lefeber

℗ 2022 NMC Recordings Ltd • © 2022 NMC Recordings Ltd

Catalogue number: NMC DL3049
Release Date: 24 June 2022