We are delighted to team up with Sound and Music to release this collection of works that were recorded between 2004-2006 as part of the Contemporary Voices scheme and are now held in the British Music Collection.

The eight volumes display a huge range of musical styles from choral pieces by Gabriel Jackson and Richard Baker, solo piano works by Tansy Davies and Luke Stoneham, ensemble works by Philip Cashian, Joe Cutler, Graham Fitkin, electro-acoustic works by Paul Whitty and Sam Hayden and electronic sound art by Katharine Norman and Evelyn Ficarra.

All the scores for these works are held in the British Music Collection, an archive that includes over 30,000 scores and recordings from British composers, dating from 1900 to the present day. Sound and Music, the national agency for new music, is working to develop the archive into a 21st century resource for today’s listeners and composers to explore the story of British music. The Collection contains both published and unpublished works, including many pieces that are out of print or hard to obtain. High-profile composers, such as Britten, Tippett, Birtwistle, Maxwell Davies, Cardew, Harvey, Weir, MacMillan, Turnage and Adès, are featured alongside currently emerging or less well-known composers whose work deserves rediscovery.